Installatron backups are an easy way to restore applications to previous versions in case you make changes you don’t like or delete something that contributed to the functionality of your site. You can backup to your hosting account or to your own storage location, which would be beneficial if you are moving between accounts.
If you are interested in automatic updates to your Installatron applications, visit that guide here.
How to Create Automated Backups in Installatron
Navigate to “My Apps” on your cPanel and locate the install you’d like to add automated backups to. Click the wrench to view/edit details.
Under the Overview tab scroll all the way to the bottom.
Above the Automatic Backup section, you can select the Default Backup Location. The default backup location is “My web hosting account,” with a limitation being the storage space on your hosting plan. You can also choose to backup zip files through many protocols including FTP, Google Drive, and Dropbox, among others.
Next, you will get to choose how often backups will be created and how long they will be saved.
Hovering over the option gives a pop-up with more in-depth explanation of what each option entails. For example, hovering over the first option (1 weekly + 1 monthly) explains one 1-7 day old backup and one 8-37 day old backup will be automatically maintained at the Default Backup Location that you’ve specified above.
Once you choose the option you’d like, hit Save All at the bottom right of the page.
How to Restore Installatron Backups
Restoring a backup is similar to cloning an application, in that you can restore to a new location. But, with restoring, you can restore older versions of n application install, whereas cloning only does the most recent version.
Going to the “My Backups” tab and you will find all the Installatron backups on your account. You can see the next scheduled backup planned to take place as well as any manual backups you’ve created (as you can see in the example below, my backup says it’s set to never expire, while those from automated backups will say “auto”).
The wrench lets you add a label to the backup, the down arrow lets you download the backup, the curved arrow allows you to restore the backup, and the “X” deletes the backup.
When restoring, you can restore to the original location or to a different location.
If you choose to restore to a different location, you select which domain/subdomain you’d like to create the installation. Keep in mind you can only have one install per location, and delete any text in “Directory,” unless you really want the install in that subfolder.
Once you’ve decided where to install the backup, and made any changes to database/settings beyond the automatic ones, scroll to the bottom and click Restore
Once it’s done, you’ll see the entry in your My Apps page, with the restored backup with the old name + Restore, but you can change the name by changing the title in the settings/details.