Limit Login Attempts Reloaded Notifications

When you install a WordPress application to your Reclaim Hosting account, there is a plugin we add automatically called Limit Login Attempts Reloaded. This plugin blocks an Internet address (IP) from making further attempts after a specified limit on retries has been reached, making brute-force attacks difficult or even impossible.

A recent update to this plugin changed the automatic notification settings used within the plugin. Email notifications used to be turned off by default, but in version 2.17+, this setting is turned on by default. This means a user will receive notifications when a specific IP address fails the login attempts designated within the plugin settings. While it is nice to know how well the plugin is performing through these updates, this may lead to more email clutter than what we already have.

To adjust the settings in the plugin and remove that notification, navigate to the Limit Login Attempts Reloaded’s settings from your WordPress dashboard.

2020-12-09 at 5.13 PM

Uncheck the box next to “Notify on lockout” to opt out of receiving the notifications. You can also adjust the settings for the Lockout to change the number of retries allowed and the number of minutes a lockout is enacted.

As an additional measure to secure your account, you can make sure your site is loading HTTPS and you can install/activate the Akismet plugin.

These measures will help protect the account further from any unwanted traffic.